small text medium text large text
Children's Department

Significant Authors and Illustrators

The Children's Department holds a complete collection of Newbery Medal books (1922 – present) and the Caldecott Medal books (1938 – present), Pura Belpre, Coretta Scott King, children's books of historical interest, and selected books by local authors.

In addition, the history of the Children's Department reveals the many contributions that early librarians made to children's literacy not only through their work with children, but also through their published contributions to children's literature. Some of these librarians/authors include: