New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Women, Food, and God

Geneen Roth's book Women, Food, and God explores the relationship between emotions and overeating. This list recommends similarly themed books.

 

Eat, Drink, and Be Mindful: How to End Your Struggle with Mindless Eating and Start Savoring Food with Intention and Joy
TX357.A393 2008

This workbook is aimed at individuals who want to help themselves, as well as professionals who treat diet and eating disorders. Albers teaches mindful-eater awareness: observing, being in the moment, acceptance, letting go, non-judgment, and mindfulness of the environment. A concise, easy-to-use guide, and a great introduction to mindful eating.

 

Mindful Eating: A Guide to Rediscovering a Healthy and Joyful Relationship with Food
TX357.B455 2009

Bays is a pediatrician and a Zen teacher who brings the medical and the spiritual together as an approach to food and eating. She offers a practical guide to slowing down, eating when hungry, stopping when full, and becoming more conscious about eating. The book comes with a CD to assist with the exercises so you can delve into them fully.

 

It Was Food vs. Me ... And I Won
RC552.C65 G66 2004

A candid account of one woman's obsession with food and how she found peace.

 

The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite
QP141.K467 2009

Sugar, fat, and salt are the three big reasons our bodies convince us to overeat. And, according to Kessler, the American food industry exploits this information for profit.

 

Angry Fat Girls: 5 Women, 500 Pounds and a Year of Losing It -- Again
RC552.O25 K84 2010

An account of a group of women, including the author, who struggle to deal with their weight issues and associated emotions.

 

The Big Skinny: How I Changed My Fattitude: A Memoir
q RM222.2.L3766 2008x

A no-nonsense look at one women's weight loss struggle, presented in a very fun and visual way. The author gives a history of her emotional and physical reasons for overeating, then shows the path to her success with color photos and a lot of humor. Includes statistics on the calorie content of good foods, several daily meal plans, and recipes.

 

Cakewalk: A Memoir
PS3613.O779 C35 2010

Growing up in a dysfunctional family surrounded by food, the author examines her formative years in terms of the desserts favored by her complicated relatives.