All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Monday, September 1.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

What happens when you want to rebel against your upbringing? You write a book, of course!

 

Foreskin's Lament: A Memoir
PS3601.U85 Z46 2007

This humorous, but spiritually dark memoir is a visceral account of Auslander's youth with a father who terrorized him with religious rules and stories about God's wrath. The narrative opens and closes with Shalom's decision regarding whether to circumcise his newborn son - a decision fraught with memories of his family and his complicated personal history in Orthodox Judaism. (Bonnie, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

The Mind-Body Problem: A Novel

Leaving her Orthodox Jewish upbringing behind, Renee Feuer attempts to untangle the "mind-body problem" as a philosophy graduate student. The Mind-Body Problem is the story of a young woman discovering the gratification of the body and the breadth of the mind. (Abby, Teen Services-Main)

 

Kasher in the Rye: The True Tale of a White Boy from Oakland Who Became a Drug Addict, Criminal, Mental Patient, and Then Turned 16
PN2287.K26 A3 2012

Comedian Moshe Kasher's account of his troubled, and often hilarious, childhood living within and shuttled between extremes - Brooklyn, New York's orthodox Hassidic community and Oakland, California's gang ridden, urban war zone. (Abby, Teen Services-Main)

 

My Name is Asher Lev

Asher displays extraordinary artistic talent from a young age, but his parents and others in his Hasidic faith are wary of his pursuits. Unable to suppress his need to draw, Asher risks alienating his family when he can't conform to his community's standards. (Rita, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

The Unlikely Disciple: A Sinner's Semester at America's Holiest University
LD3071.L33 R66 2009

While Unorthodox is a take on religion from the inside-out, The Unlikely Disciple looks at religion from the outside-in. After a chance encounter with a group of students from Liberty University - a conservative Baptist institution in Lynchburg, Virginia - Kevin Roose, a liberal, non-religious student at Brown University, decides to spend a semester at the school to see how the other half does it. (Jess, Woods Run)

 

Rumspringa: To Be or Not to Be Amish
E184.M45 S53 2006

An inside look at the period of Amish life called "Rumspringa," when teens are allowed to dabble in worldly matters, and decide whether or not they want to remain in the faith. (Leigh Anne, Reference Services-Main)

 

Cartwheels in a Sari: A Memoir of Growing Up Cult
BP610.C552 T36 2009

There is a huge difference between people who decide to follow a questionable spiritual leader, and those who are born into a cult and brainwashed from birth. Jayanti was an example of the latter and somehow escaped. (Connie, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

Gypsy Boy: My Life in the Secret World of the Romany Gypsies
DX127.W35 A3 2012

After years of physical and sexual abuse, Walsh realizes he will never be able to reconcile his homosexuality with the strict codes and violence of his Gypsy family and community, yet to escape is total betrayal. In disturbing detail, he describes his upbringing and departure from this little-known society. (Kaarin, Downtown & Business)