All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Sunday, April 20.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alike: Second Impressions by Ava Farmer

Just can't get enough of Jane Austen? Try one of these for a sequel or similar read.

 

Old Friends and New Fancies: An Imaginary Sequel to the Novels of Jane Austen

Published in 1914, Brinton was first to take on an imagined sequel to Austen's novels. Old Friends and New Fancies brings together characters from all six Austen novels, with Georgiana Darcy as the primary focus of the four matchmaking schemes at hand. (Jess, Woods Run)

 

The Cookbook Collector

Sisters Emily and Jessamine are leaders, but that is where their similarities end. Emily is the whip-smart and polished CEO of a San Francisco computer company, while her sloppy sister is the leader of an environmental activist group. Romance, humor, families, trust and loyalty issues - this book has much in common with Austen's novels, albeit with a new setting: Northern California's dot.com boom of the late 1990s. (Holly, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

The Age of Innocence

When a man engaged to another woman meets the love of his life, the social network conspires to keep them apart. (Georgia, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

A Far Better Rest

Instead of traveling forward in time to see what the future holds for famous literary characters, travel backward to gain insight into some fictional people. What experiences and events formed the dispositions of the main characters in A Tale of Two Cities? Under what circumstances were Sydney Carton, Charles Darnay and Lucie Manette first brought together? These questions are answered in this novel set in the turbulent times of late 1700s Europe. (Linda, Beechview)

 

Two Lives: Reading Turgenev and My House in Umbria

"Reading Turgenev", the first of two novellas that comprise William Trevor's book Two Lives, is the story of a young woman from rural Ireland who attempts to marry for something other than love, and, in the suffering caused by her failure, reveals a true love. While no sequel, "Reading Turgenev" does not merely underscore the importance of the works of the great 19th century Russian writer to the plot of the novella itself, but quite unabashedly evokes the spirit of Turgenev in style, lyricism, and substance. In short, Trevor does a favor to all fans of Turgenev by contributing another work worthy of its inspiration, while introducing fans of Trevor (or simply great writing, and Trevor is one of the best) to the emotional power of an honored predecessor. (Miguel, First Floor-New & Featured, Main)

 

Bridget Jones's Diary

In this modern interpretation of Jane Austen's classic Pride and Prejudice, we find our heroine single, living in London, and torn between a smoldering cad and a pompous stick-in-the-mud. Who will win her heart? (Abby, Teen Department, Main)