All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will close at 5 pm on Wednesday, November 26 and will remain closed on Thursday, November 27.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Autobiography of Mark Twain, Vol. 1

American writer Samuel Clemens wrote under the pen names Thomas Jefferson Snodgrass, Sergeant Fathom, and W. Epaminondas Adrastus Blab. But his most famous pen name is Mark Twain. Waiting for a copy of his unabridged autobiography? Read it already? For related reading, try one of these titles.

 

Inventing Mark Twain: The Lives of Samuel Langhorne Clemens
PS1331.H53 1997

Delve deeper into the conflicted relationship between Clemens and his nom de plume and alter ego, Mark Twain.

 

My Mark Twain
PS1331.H6 1997

Howells, fellow-novelist and good friend of Twain's, sat down to write a eulogy for Twain in the week after his death in April 1910. It was published in Harper's Monthly in the summer of that year, a portrait of Twain's "humanity and his convictions," as Howells put it, and with additional writing was reprinted in book form as My Mark Twain.

 

As Big as the West: The Pioneer Life of Granville Stuart
F731.S916 M55 2009

If you thought Mark Twain had an interesting life, check out Granville Stuart. He was a gold miner, merchant, bank bookkeeper, county commissioner, cattle rancher, vigilante, US ambassador to Uruguay and Paraguay, and finally a librarian. They call him "Mr. Montana" because his life parallels the story of the beginnings of that state. A very interesting character, indeed!

 

Storyteller : The Authorized Biography of Roald Dahl
PR6054.A35 Z88 2010

A beloved children's author, Roald Dahl was largely criticized and misunderstood during his lifetime due to his penchant for speaking his mind on controversial topics. This extensive biography reveals the private side of this well known man. Delve into his life and personal tragedies while exploring his appreciation for the macabre and dark humor.

 

The Innocents Abroad; Roughing it
PS1302 1984

Mark Twain's humorous travel stories present him as a fish-out-of water in Europe, and in the Wild, Wild West.

 

Letters From the Earth: Uncensored Writings
PR6054.A35 Z88 2010

Answers these burning questions and more: Why would anyone want to go to heaven? Why can't women have more sex? What really happened to Adam and Eve? Why can't Fenimore Cooper write? What is wrong with the human race?