All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Wednesday, December 24, Thursday, December 25 and Thursday, January 1, 2015. In addition, the Library will close at 5 pm Wednesday, December 31, 2014.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Half-Empty

Are you a fan of David Rakoff's humorous asides and sarcastic one-liners? Featured in this list are other novels and essay collections sure to make you laugh and grimace in equal proportions.

 

How Did You Get This Number: Essays
PS3603.R673 H69 2010

This follow-up to I Was Told There'd Be Cake includes nine thoughtful and funny essays on living in New York, visiting other places, and refusing to grow up.

 

The White Album
PS3554.I33 W4 1990x

Didion is one of the best observers of American culture that we have. The essays in The White Album show her typical depth and intelligence. Topics include California, women, travel, and the Sixties.

 

Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto
E169.12.K56 2003

While this is "much ado about nothing" (The Sims, Billy Joel, tribute bands, etc.), the ado is very entertaining and instructive.

 

Spoiled Rotten America: Outrages of Everyday Life
E169.Z83 M55 2006

If you saw his face, you would know who he is. He has played the sarcastic bad guy role in many films and television shows. In this book, he takes a humorous stab at the annoyances in life, everything from his wife wanting him to dress differently, to the perils of little league, the overeating habits of Americans, racial issues, and how difficult it is for someone famous to buy pornography.

 
The New Kings of Nonfiction
PS659.2.N49 2007x

An anthology of the terrific nonfiction storytelling chosen by Ira Glass, producer and host of public radio's This American Life.

 

Me Talk Pretty One Day
PS3569.E314 M4 2000

Sedaris's collection is divided into two sections: the first explores his upbringing and life before his move to France and the second, Deux, consists of what happens afterwards.

 

Take the Cannoli: Stories from the New World
AC8.V76 2000

Vowell offers a collection of hilarious and heartbreaking essays and autobiographical yarns.