All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will close at 5 pm on Wednesday, November 26 and will remain closed on Thursday, November 27.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alike: Land of the Painted Caves

Can't wait for the latest installation in the Earth's Children series? Maybe one of these will fit the bill until your hold comes in.

 

Stonehenge, 2000 B.C.

When a mysterious stranger is sacrificed to gods by Neolithic villagers in ancient Britain, his worldly goods cause dissention and trouble among the people.

 

People of the Moon

This book in the (loosely connected) First North American series focuses on a prehistoric tribe in what is now New Mexico and southern Colorado. Fierce warrior Ripple must choose a future: whether to settle down with a powerful Healer named Orenda, or fight to the death against the oppressive rule of the First People.

 

Julie of the Wolves

In this coming-of-age story by George, who has done extensive research into Alaskan culture and wildlife, 13-year-old Eskimo girl Miyax runs away from her abusive husband and gets lost on the tundra. To survive, she befriends a wolf pack and develops very deep relationships with them.

 

A Game of Thrones

Those who love the historical details and complex storylines of the Earth's Children series might also enjoy the Song of Ice and Fire Series, set in a fictional world that resembles the medieval age.

 

Hawaii

This is an enthralling and historically accurate novel starting with the birth of the islands and the first humans to make them their home, ending when Hawaii becomes a state. Hawaii has the saga feel of Auel's novels.

 

Reindeer Moon

Written by an anthropologist who spent years studying hunter-gatherer societies around the world, Reindeer Moon is the story of a young woman living 20,000 years ago in what is now Siberia. If you're looking for a strong-willed female protagonist, excellent writing, historical detail, and an understanding of our ancestors' connection with nature, try this book.

 

Daughter of the Sun

A gifted daughter of the agricultural Anasazi people is kidnapped, taken to the heart of the Tolec empire, and forced to make a ceremonial rain pot that will end the drought. Her talents allow her entrance into the dominant ruler's circle, which causes conflict among the other leaders. This power struggle eventually leads to the legendary abandonment of Chaco Canyon by the Anasazi.