All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Sunday, April 20.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: The Happiness Project

Have you finished reading Gretchen Rubin's book The Happiness Project, but you're still not happy? Then try some of these titles!

 

Farewell, My Subaru: An Epic Adventure in Local Living
GE198.N45 F56 2008

Doug Fine decides to live a truly "green" life in the New Mexico desert. This book chronicles his challenging year trying to drastically reduce his carbon footprint by growing his own food, raising livestock, using solar energy, driving with vegetable oil fuel, and more. His style is funny and engaging.

 

The Great Eight: How to be Happy (Even When You Have Every Reason to be Miserable)
BF575.H27 H36 2009

Olympic figure skating gold medalist Scott Hamilton knows something about making the most of a miserable situation. Diagnosed with both a brain tumor and testicular cancer, Hamilton has survived. He offers concrete, achievable ways for the rest of us to find peace and actual happiness in the face of daunting challenges.

 

The Year of Yes: A Memoir
HQ800.2.H43 2006

Sick of her New York City single life, the author decides to accept every date for a year. She encounters creeps, duds, and hilarity, but does she find true love?

 

Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home
PS3610.A59 Z75 2009

When she leaves home for college, Janzen withdraws from the conservative Mennonite community she grew up in and embraces the secular world. At age 43 a double disaster sends her home to live with her mother, a church deacon, and her father, a former "Mennonite equivalent of the pope." Instead of spending a planned sabbatical researching, she reengages in Mennonite culture. A crack grammarian, Janzen tells a heck of a story.

 

Living Oprah: My One-Year Experiment to Walk the Walk of the Queen of Talk
CT275.O4457 A3 2010

Who knows better than Oprah how to be happy? Find out how one woman fared during the one year that she followed all of Oprah's suggestions for living her "best life."

 

Against Happiness: In Praise of Melancholy
BF575.M44 W55 2008

If you're seeking an alternative to the constant pursuit of happiness, give Eric Wilson's Against Happiness a try. Wilson argues that sometimes it's just fine to be sad, and that sadness has been a boon to some of history's greatest creative minds.