All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Wednesday, December 24, Thursday, December 25 and Thursday, January 1, 2015. In addition, the Library will close at 5 pm Wednesday, December 31, 2014.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Game Change

Delve deeper into the backstage of American politics and the 2008 presidential election with read-alikes for Game Change: Obama and the Clintons, McCain and Palin, and the Race of a Lifetime by John Heilemann and Mark Halperin.

 

Inside Obama's Brain
E908.3.A26 2009

An exploration of the people, ideas and events that shape the 44th President of the United States. Get to know President Obama through the perspective of his friends, colleagues, classmates, mentors and more.

 

Primary Colors: A Novel of Politics

This anonymous novel caused plenty of controversy for its thinly-veiled allegory of Bill Cinton's 1992 bid for the Presidency and characterization of the politicians, journalists, campaign workers and others (including Hillary Clinton) along for the ride.

 

The Battle for America 2008: The Story of an Extraordinary Election
E906.B35 2009

While not as titillating and gossip-filled as Game Change, two long-time Washington reporters and insiders illuminate events surrounding the 2008 Presidential election, from the initial candidate line-up in 2006 through the 2009 inauguration.

 

The Greatest Presidential Stories Never Told: 100 Tales From History to Astonish, Bewilder and Stupefy
E176.1.B49 2007

You may have to wait to get the dirt on 2008's presidential candidates, but if you want to find out about whiskey, skinny-dipping and illegitimate children in the lives of our past presidents, this is the book for you.

 

08: A Graphic Diary of the Campaign Trail
JK526 2008 .C76 2009x

This is an account in graphic novel format of the McCain-Obama battle for the 2008 presidential election, written by Crowley, Senior Editor at the New Republic, and illustrated by Goldman, coauthor of other political graphic novels including Shooting War and Everyman: Be the People.

 
 

How Barack Obama Won: A State-by-State Guide to the Historic 2008 Presidential Election
E906.T63 2009

The 2008 presidential election is examined and analyzed state by state in this essential guide to the election results. Also included are lessons for the 2012 election and insights into what's to come.

 

McCain's Promise: Aboard the Straight Talk Express with John McCain and a Whole Bunch of Actual Reporters, Thinking About Hope
E840.8.M26 W35 2008

With his unparalleled feisty wit and fierce insight, Wallace recounts his first-person, non-political journalist experience on McCain's 2000 Presidential Election campaign trail.

 

The War Within: A Secret White House History, 2006-2008
DS79.76.W665 2008x

Using his trademark "deep background" interviews, as well as e-mail and memorandum documentation, Woodward digs deep into the presidency of George W. Bush from 2006 through mid-2008.