New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Read-Alikes: Food Rules

If you like Michael Pollan's take on food, health, and the environment in books like Food Rules, then you might like to read some of these similarly themed titles.

 

Bringing it to the Table: On Farming and Food
S441.B472 2009

Compilation of essays by the progenitor of the fresh/local food movement, with an introduction by Michael Pollan.

 

Twinkie, Deconstructed: My Journey to Discover How the Ingredients Found in Processed Foods are Grown, Mined (Yes, Mined), and Manipulated Into What America Eats
641.308 Ettlinger

Learn what's really in a Twinkie and other processed foods. It ain't pretty.

 

Like Water for Chocolate

If you like to read about food, you must give this novel a try. The descriptions of food take emotions and sensuality of food to a whole new level. The dishes are not necessarily Michael Pollan-approved, but reading is a very healthy activity.

 

101 Foods That Could Save Your Life!
RA784.G765 2008

An encyclopedia of foods with historical information about their origins, including scientific research, recipes, and information about the health benefits of each food.

 

What to Eat
RA784.N46 2006

This comprehensive, scientific yet readable book is organized similarly to the layout of a grocery store, and explains healthiest, freshest selections.

 

Real Food: What to Eat and Why
TX360.U6 P63 2006

The author believes we should be eating traditional, natural food that hunter-gatherers or the earliest farmers would have eaten a millennia ago. Funny and accessible without being on a soapbox.

 

The New Laurel's Kitchen: A Handbook for Vegetarian Cookery & Nutrition
TX837.R6 1986

A classic cookbook filled with easy vegetarian recipes, nutritional advice, and gardening tips to help you achieve an optimal diet.

 

The Jungle

The Granddaddy of all food books. An expose of how food is really made from 1906. "I aimed at the public's heart, and ended up hitting it in the stomach."

 

The Butcher and The Vegetarian: One Woman's Romp Through a World of Men, Meat, and Moral Crisis
92 W36

When her doctor advised eating meat for health reasons, the author began her journey back to the world of carnivores. Along the way she examines and justifies her actions with the vegetarian community in mind.

 

Spontaneous Healing: How to Discover and Enhance Your Body's Natural Ability to Maintain and Heal Itself
RZ440.W43 1995

Dr. Weil believes the ways to stay healthy and to heal from illnesses come naturally when we make supportive, not weakening, nutrition and lifestyle choices. These involve eating anti-inflammatory foods, getting enough exercise, and protecting ourselves from environmental toxins.