All Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Wednesday, December 24, Thursday, December 25 and Thursday, January 1, 2015. In addition, the Library will close at 5 pm Wednesday, December 31, 2014.

New & Recommended

My Stuff

More Than Books

small text medium text large text

Sh*t My Dad Says Read-Alikes

This booklist highlights books that deal with interesting dads, and at least one originated on the internet. In other words, they all have something in common with Justin Halpern's bestselling book, Sh*t My Dad Says

 

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic
PN6727.B3757 Z46 2006

The author shares the experience of growing up with her fixer-upper father. Her uniquely detailed drawings show her acute awareness of her surroundings, and sharpen the awareness of her readers.

 

Lamentations of the Father
PN6231.F37 F73 2008

The title essay in this collection of literary humor has been deemed "fridge worthy." Need I say more?

 

Passive Aggressive Notes: Painfully Polite and Hilariously Hostile Writings, and Just Plain Aggressive
PN6153.P37 2008

This collection of notes is therapeutic, relatable, and hilarious. We all know that terrible roommate or neighbor or family member who couldn't manage to wash a dish or properly lock a door or who stole mail. Enjoy the venting of others. It's entirely cathartic.

 

Don't Make Me Stop This Car!: Adventures in Fatherhood
HQ756.R6395 2000

With humor in abundance, Roker's inside view into an unconventional family culminates in a better understanding of and appreciation for his own parents.

 

In the Event of My Untimely Demise: Twenty Things My Son Needs to Know
PN6165.S23 2008

This is a collection of parenting advice from father to son. Full of insight and tinged with more than a little humor, it contains such gems as "Making money long-term in acting is like shooting fish in a barrel that has no fish in it. With a shotgun that's actually a banana."

 
Six-Word Memoirs on Love and Heartbreak edited by Rachel Fershleiser and Larry Smith
PN6084.L6 S59 2009x

This playfully-formatted collection of famous and anonymous lives reduced to six words will satisfy readers looking for quick quips that range from clever to melancholy to hilarious.

 

My Life and Hard Times
PS3539.H94 Z474 1973

Published in 1933, this best-selling autobiography features Thurber's eccentric family, including deadpan descriptions of his father, a sporadically employed clerk and minor politican who dreamed of being an actor.

 

Take the Cannoli: (Stories from the New World)
AC8.V76 2000bx

These are hilarious and dark autobiographical pieces by hugely-talented magazine writer and NPR's This American Life contributor Vowell.